SMS is the new black

A review of mass market mobile apps

10 things you didn’t know you could do via text

Posted by Admin on March 4, 2009

There’s a great post over on Technokitten’s blog (inspired by one from Mobile Maven) about the various different things that you can do via text message – aside from sending a note to a friend.

Many people in the industry forget that the humble text message is an incredibly important tool for two main reasons. The first is the ubiquitous nature of it – ‘everyone’ uses text messaging and there is no learning curve or education to go through with regards to a new service on text. Even my mum regularly occasionally sends me texts and would be happy to use relevant SMS-based services.

For me, I use SpinVox all the time (or at least as often as people leave a message) and if I’ve got any niggling questions  to be answered then I drop AQA63336 a message and am certain to get back an astute or humourous (or both) response. I also, as Technokitten points out, really like it when people use text messages for customer care – telling me a delivery is on the way, letting me know that a cab has been dispatched, that kind of thing.

One of the other uses that I’ve seen around a lot, but haven’t used yet, is creating a ‘real’ social network of your friends or colleagues for important and immediate updates – eg sports teams confirming the kick-off time, or that the venue has moved. The kind of service that allows many-to-many messages to be sent and received easily and intuitively. I also think that the use of SMS in helping me to automate my life will grow – eg allowing me to turn on my heating as I’m on the train home etc.

Have a full read of the original post and comments here.

Leave a Reply

 
