SMS is the new black

A review of mass market mobile apps

12 Days of Christmas – Vodafone keeps dropping my calls

Posted by Admin on December 29, 2008

For a while now I’ve been having one major problem with my phone … it keeps dropping calls. It’s happened on a number of occasions, while talking to a number of different people and in a number of different locations. So although that is hardly scientific, my research tells me that it’s pretty likely to be a fault at my end and not theirs. It’s happened on a couple of different phones and also, it only started when I changed provider to Vodafone.

Ironically, one of the reasons I moved to Vodafone was because of the quality of service, many people had told me that the network was very good and that reliability was excellent. Although I hadn’t really noticed a problem before with other networks those issues were obviously important to me, so I moved to Vodafone.

Now, dropping a call and then phoning the person straight back is hardly a life-threatening problem. But it is a bit embarassing, especially when all I did was take a pace to the left (or whatever). And to happen once is something that I wouldn’t really think about. But it happens about once a week and is starting to annoy me.

The only reason I’m writing this post is because I understand that Vodafone has a team of people on the lookout for posts just like this. They then jump into action and apologise (I’m presuming they can’t actually fix the problem as it’s a network issue, although I suppose we could try a new sim to see how that goes for a while). That’s ok for me if they get in touch, but what about my mum who doesn’t write a blog and will just be convinced that mobiles are a bit flaky and if calls don’t work well then why on earth should she trust her phone to download a music file / game / photo etc?

3 Responses to “12 Days of Christmas – Vodafone keeps dropping my calls”

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today on12 Days of Christmas – Vodafone keeps dropping my calls « SMS is …Here’s a quick excerpt12 Days of Christmas – Vodafone keeps dropping my calls. Posted by smsisthenewblack on December 29, 2008. For a while now I’ve been having one major problem with my phone … it keeps dropping calls. It’s happened on a number of occasions … […]

  2. James said

    Hi smsisthenewblack

    Firstly when looking into this type of problem it can be down to different things including the SIM, The Phone or the network.

    I would firstly pop into your local Vodafone store and get them to change your SIM. If tgis doesn’t resolve your issue please register and post on the Vodafone eForum and we will do our best to help you.

    http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/

    James
    VFUK

  3. […] 12 Days of Christmas – Vodafone keeps dropping my calls […]

Leave a Reply

 
